# **MINUTES**

Douglas Students' Union Annual General Meeting Wednesday January 27, 2021 • Online - ZOOM

2:30pm The meeting was called to order by Chairperson, Nikiel Lal.

#### **Douglas Students' Union Members Present**

See attached membership registration forms – Appendix A.

# **Douglas Students' Union Staff Present**

Executive Director	Andrew Dalton
Financial and Accounting Coordinator	Roxana Matasa
Organizer - Campus Life	Deepa Singh
Organizer - Advocacy	
Organizer – Membership Outreach	
Services Coordinator	

## **Others Present**

Student Life Coordinator	Erica McKeddie	•
Executive Director, British Columbia Federation of Students	Michael Olson	
Tompkins, Wozny, Miller & Co.	Erik Allas	

Lal noted that quorum was not met, however according to DSU Bylaw iV, 6, B, C the meeting can continue to approve the audited financial statements, receive the annual report and approve the auditor for the next fiscal year.

## 1. RATIFICATION OF MEETING CHAIRPERSON

### AGM-2021-N01 MOTION

E.Sundmark/A.Ramkumar

Be it resolved that British Columbia Federation of Students Executive Director, Michael Olson, be ratified as the meeting chairperson.

CARRIED.

# 2. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF TERRITORY

The meeting acknowledged the traditional territory of the Qayqayt First Nations and Coast Salish peoples.

## 3. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

### AGM-2021-N02 MOTION

S.Gaidu/A.Hillaby

Be it resolved that the agenda be adopted.

CARRIED.

# 4. ADOPTION OF THE MINUTES

### AGM-2021-N03 MOTION

E.Sundmark/J.Palad

Be it resolved that the 2020 annual general meeting minutes be adopted.

CARRIED.

# 5. PRESENTATION OF ANNUAL REPORT

Members of the Board of Directors provided a video report on their activities during the 2019/20 year.

## AGM-2021-N04 MOTION

J.Tong/G.Gaidu

Be it resolved that the 2019/20 Annual Report be received.

CARRIED.

# 6. PRESENTATION OF AUDITED STATEMENTS

Erik Allas, Partner at the accounting firm Tompkins Wozny LLP, presented the audited financial statements for the 2019-2020 fiscal year.

#### AGM-2021-N05 MOTION

E.Sundmark/B.Hothi

Be it resolved that the 2019-2020 audited financial statements and Report of the Auditor be received.

CARRIED.

# 7. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR

### AGM-2021-N06 MOTION

N.LalL/S.Gaidu

Be it resolved that the firm Tompkins Wozny LLP be appointed as the auditors for the 2020-2021 fiscal year.

CARRIED.

## 8. QUESTION & ANSWER

The DSU Board of Directors and staff responded to questions from members. Questions included:

- Have you made any inquiries towards removing the compass card fees during the pandemic?
- Is there any update available on when U-PASS will be available for students again?
- Who are eligible for U-PASS?
- I was wondering if our cost of tuition will be discussed. If we continue online schooling, will
  tuition cost decrease due to not being able to utilize all in person resources? Online schooling
  is significantly different than in person schooling.

In addition, 1 question was asked about tax filing, as well as 1 question about clubs. Both of these questions from members were directed to be emailed the DSU for more discussion of their questions.

Olson announced that attendees will receive an email in the next few days in regards to prizes they all receive for attending the meeting.

# 9. ADJOURNMENT

## AGM-2021-N07 MOTION

S.Gaidu/T.Sullivan

Be it resolved that the meeting be adjourned at 3:29pm.

CARRIED.

AGM-21-01-27-minutes.doc DS/ds/ad CUPE 2396

# APPENDIX A -

Douglas Students' Union Members Present:	
Barbara Bardouniotis	
Tyler Sullivan	
Ihsan Kundupoglu	
Myat Pwint	
Su Nandar Htet	
Caitlin Spreeuw	
Danielle Buteau	
Vanessa Le Mercier	
Mike Gomez	
Gurpinder Gaidu	
Eric Sundmark	
Simran Gaidu	
Melissa Chirino	

Jed Palad
Melissa Cocking
Nikiel Lal
Myungsan Yun
Kyle Maddox
Bikrum Hothi
Himadri Joshi
Amrita Ramkumar
Min Thiha
Emilie Voigt
Mae Jamisola
Doyin Agbaje
Aman Nijjar
Paean Sanchez

Luna Wagner
Vicki Wang
Shubam Kalra
Rajandeep Kaur
Rhutuja Salunkhe
Hanan Sadeghi
Marie Lochhead
Alysandra Hillaby
Olya Galianova
Nikhil Garg
Miss Aye
Clerin Binoy
John Angelo King
Carly Dargatz

Jenn Tong
Christine Machado
Kevin Le
Meg Amwan
Akshara Sharma
Nancy Lakhanpal
Sohini Brahmbhatt
Jiheui Lee
Catherine Pan
Anita Shaban
Sukhnoor Singh